The museum opened in 1989 to honor the famous home-town boy Rex Elvie Allen, a true cowboy who became the last of the singing cowboys of Western movie fame. You’ll see memorabilia from his lifetime success in rodeo, radio, movies and television. Hours of Operation are
Across the street from the museum is a larger-than-life bronze statue of Rex, created by sculptor Buck McCain. Inside the statue is a molded bronze heart with arteries, symbolizing that Rex’s heart will always be in Willcox. Rex’s horse, KoKo, is buried at the foot of the statue.
The museum is open 10 AM - 1 PM on Monday and 11 AM - 3 PM Tuesday through Saturday or by appointment. For more information, please visit http://www.rexallenmuseum.org/ or call (520) 384-4583.
Located in Texas Canyon near Cochise Stronghold is the Amerind Museum. William Shirley Fulton established this unique museum and art gallery in 1937 as a private, nonprofit anthropological and archaeological research center for Native American cultures. Allow 2-3 hours for your visit. Picnic facilities are available. Hours of operation are 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesdays through Sundays; Closed Mondays and major holidays. For more information, please visit http://www.amerind.org/ or call (520) 586-3666 ---2100 N. Amerind Road, Dragoon AZ 85609
Visit the museum honoring the people who created the rich heritage of the area. The museum features the history and culture of the Chiricahua Apaches from Cochise to Geronimo to their time as prisoners of war. Also featured are a variety of exhibits including Willcox town history, military, cattle ranching, and rocks and minerals.
The research center is located in the historic Toggery store at 128 E. Maley, Willcox, AZ 85643. It contains books, photos, maps, newspapers, family histories, and land and legal records for Willcox and the surrounding towns. Exhibits include the Judge Monk Family exhibit, Cowbelles displays, The Mascot, Johnson Camp, Commonwealth mines, and the Arizona Rangers.
Museum hours are 10 AM - 4 PM Monday through Saturday. The Research Center is open Wednesdays and Thursdays and also by appointment. For more information, please visit the museum's website or call (520) 384-3971.
Once the Southern Pacific Railroad grew to Willcox in 1880, the town experienced massive growth. As ranchers flocked to Southeastern Arizona so did the outlaws, and the mountains surrounding the valley served as a criminal hideout for many years. Learn about notorious outlaws as they traveled through Southern Arizona and left their mark on our history-rich town.
In addition to Rex Allen, many other famous entertainers once called Willcox their home. The biographies of several singers, artists, and film stars detail their journeys from Willcox to national spotlight.
Chiricahua National Monument is open year-round and does not charge an entrance fee.
The visitor center is open from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm Mountain Standard Time. Arizona does not observe Daylight Savings Time. Check the current Arizona time.
The free Hiker Shuttle leaves the visitor center each morning at 9:00 am and stops at the campground at 9:05 am. Signing up at the Visitor Center is required either the day before or the morning of the shuttle. The shuttle drops hikers at either the Echo Canyon or Massai Point trailheads. Hikers then follow the trails back to the Visitor Center or the Bonita Canyon Campground. For more information please visit https://www.nps.gov/chir/planyourvisit/index.htm
Fort Bowie witnessed almost 25 years of conflict between the Chiricahua Apache and the US Army, and remains a tangible connection to the turbulent era of the late 1800s. Explore the history of Fort Bowie and Apache Pass as you hike the 1.5 mile trail to the visitor center and old fort ruins. Today, this peaceful landscape stands in stark contrast to the violence that once gripped this land.
For more information please visit https://www.nps.gov/fobo/index.htm
Originally built in 1880 as an Army Officer reception center, this historic home frequently hosted soldiers on their travels between Fort Grant and Fort Bowie. Josef Schwertner and his family purchased it in 1897 and made it into their family home. The Schwertners also ran a saloon-turned-grocery store that is now the Rex Allen Museum. Though Josef passed in 1929, his family continued to live in the home until the 1980's.
This Stick-Style Victorian home was built of redwood with wooden shingles and shutters. After reaching a dilapidated condition, the house was restored by local volunteers and donors. It is currently owned by the Sulphur Spring Valley Historical Society.
A gem for Western history buffs, this site contains graves from the late 19th and early 20th century, including the famous cowboy Warren Earp. This historic site is located just outside of historic downtown at 454 N 3rd Ave.